Flowerism – Ye Ruoshi 1st Solo Exhibition

Finally, she threw in the towel after 10 years of “soaking” in the pool of sweat and tears of graphic design – a lady in her early thirties decided to give up the fight to be an outstanding designer and switch her career entirely to being a painter. Who am I talking about? Who else? Me lah!

Singapore flower artist Ye Ruoshi
I knew my interest always lies in drawing and painting. At the same time, I would like to plan for a child. To be able to work and look after my child at the same time is something I would like to do in the future.
I started the Flowerism series of paintings in 2003. After involving in a women group show with APAD called ‘Cinta‘ in 2003, I was inspired by my first series of paintings in which I painted 12 small canvases of close up studies of roses withering titled ‘If Roses Can Speak…’ I decided to work on closer studies of flower structures. Especially local and tropical flowers, their form and colours entice me.
Ever since I started my life as a full-time painter, I have had some time to smell the flowers and to do things at my own pace. However, that does not mean I can slack in the production of my works. The discipline must still be there to become a professional painter. To produce one painting a day was my goal. Best thing is that, after finishing each piece of work, Kamal will be there to give his comments. And very often, we would be sipping tea and having constructive conversation on paintings and art. That is our simple pleasure.
This has motivated me to work towards producing 100 paintings for this show. In the midst of producing these works, something beautiful happened in our lives, for the first time, I am pregnant! Everything just goes as planned.

To view the 100 paintings of Flowerism series, please go to my official website at: www.flowerism.com

Singapore women artist painting

Singapore women artist Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting

Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting

Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting

Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting

Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting

Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting

Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting

Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting

Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting

Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting

Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting Singapore women artist painting

3 thoughts on “Flowerism – Ye Ruoshi 1st Solo Exhibition

Leave a Reply

