Motherhood- The 2005 Flowerism Collection (event)

This is my second solo show. Held at Utterly Art Exhibition Space, Motherhood is an emotive collection which expresses a new mother’s experience of pregnancy, child birth and the love for her child.

Singapore Flower Oil Painter

I started this series of paintings right after my confinement. Having to juggle between taking care of my new born, Mahsuri, and painting, it is really challenging for me. I usually spent the day taking care of him and only paint at night. For almost 10 months (that is the duration for the preparation of Motherhood), I have been sleeping for 5 hrs each day. Luckily, once a week, Mahsuri goes to “po po” (my mom) house. That is the day where I could paint during the day and try to catch more sleep at night. Even then, it is still rather difficult as Ning (Mahsuri’s Chinese name) was breasts-fed since the day he was born. Now about 10 months old, he is still on breastsfeeding. So, I have to really plan ahead and prepare whatever that is necessary for him to bring to my parents’ place.
During this period of time, I was rather sensitive to some trivial matters. Fortunately, my hubby and my family members are understanding. They helped me a lot and gave me their moral support. Without them, I won’t be able to put up this show.
I would like to express my gratitude to Dr Pwee Keng Hock and Mr Kenneth Tan of Utterly Art for their help in organising this show. Mr Ahmad Effendy and Miss June Lai for their contribution in the design of the literature and my website. Mr Eddino Hadi for his nice photography of the events. Mr Rudy Djoharnaen for his writeup in Berita Harian. Mr K.K. Goh for his interview in Zaobao NOW (8th Dec 2005) and many others who have, in one way or another, helped in making this show a success.
Last but not least, my beloved hubby, Kamal Dollah, father of my son, Mahsuri, for being such a wonderful husband and ‘ayah’ (Malay word for ‘father’).

Lianhe Zaobao NOW newspaper review

Singapore artist flower oil painting Singapore artist flower oil painting Singapore artist flower oil painting

Singapore artist flower oil painting Singapore artist flower oil painting Singapore artist flower oil painting

Singapore artist flower oil painting Singapore artist flower oil painting Singapore artist flower oil painting

Singapore artist flower oil painting Singapore artist flower oil painting Singapore artist flower oil painting

Singapore artist flower oil painting Singapore artist flower oil painting Singapore artist flower oil painting

Singapore artist flower oil painting Singapore artist flower oil painting Singapore artist flower oil painting

Singapore artist flower oil painting Singapore artist flower oil painting Singapore artist flower oil painting

Singapore artist flower oil painting Singapore artist flower oil painting Interview in Todays Parents magazine

Singapore artist flower oil painting Singapore artist flower oil painting Magazine feature

Phototalk in Motherhood magazine

Leave a Reply

