Kampong: APAD’s Contemporary 2007

May 25th, 2007 APAD’s 33rd Contemporary Art Exhibition held at

Malay Heritage Centre (Taman Warisan Melayu).
Showing from 25th May 2007 – 8th June 2007.
Refer to official exhibition website for details.

singapore art oil painting

Goli-goli (oil painting) 6″ x 6″ (each)

I wasn’t brought up in a Kampong hence I can’t say I understand the true meaning of ‘kampong’ (Malay word for village). However, when the word ‘kampong’ is mentioned, it always remind me of a part of my childhood memories where I went to stay in a relative’s house in Segamat, Malaysia. The smell of stools of farm animals, the taste of delicious steam white kampong chicken, the mosquito net in my cousin’s bedroom… and most of all, the games that we play. Games like zero point, five stones, goli… they are simple yet fun and impressionable. My works are inspired by the colour fragments inside the goli (glass marbles). When I was a child, I was amazed by the little colourful “strips” which has made me wondered how it was put inside the round glass balls. I have of course grown up now, married and with kids. However, the colourful apppearance have lured me into producing an oil-painting titled: ‘Goli-goli’. In ‘Goli-goli’, we could all find the special colour in our life. Especially in the world today which is not as innocent as what we have used to know.


2 thoughts on “Kampong: APAD’s Contemporary 2007

Leave a Reply

