APAD’s 50th Anniversary group show –” Moving On” at The Substation

imageimageimageimageimage

Attended the exhibition opening night of the group show- “ Moving On” at The Substation, Armenian Street, last Thursday 3rd October. I was one of the participating artists. Our Guest-of-Honour Mr Masagos asked how me, a Chinese, get to join this only Malay Artists Association in Singapore. I said it’s because my husband Kamal Dollah is actively involved in the association, and me being an Islam convert, has been actively producing art works. Perhaps Mr Rahman, the president then and now, saw my effort and make an exception and accept me as one of their artists. Thank you Mr Rahman Rais.

This show commemorate the association move-out from their old premise at the Telo Ayer Performing Arts Centre at Cecil Street to the present new set-up at the new Arts Centre– The Aliwal Arts Centre at Aliwal Street near the Arab Street area. “Moving On” is also to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of APAD ( Angkatan Pelukis Aneka Daya or better known as Association of Artists of Various Resources). The show features around 60 works by 37 artists of the 66 member artists in the association. The works are small works of less than 2 feet in measurement each. Nice “bite size” for the small homes here in SG.

i showed two of my paintings from the Hua Dan series Titled: Paper Aeroplane and The Ride respectively. Here’s to mention especially that the Paper Aeroplane was produced after I had lost my fourth son at 24 weeks gestation. It anti men emotional and difficult period. I numbed myself through paintings, still doing it consistently… Paper Aeroplane featured Hua Dan riding on the red paper Aeroplane through stormy skies. She had her eyes shut while clinging on to the supposedly flimsy paper plane. She is struggling to move on but she choose to close her eyes because she don’t want to be distracted by the scene infront that she will forget her loss and pain… It’s a battle in the heart and mind…

 

3 thoughts on “APAD’s 50th Anniversary group show –” Moving On” at The Substation

  1. Hi,
    Loved your caricatures. Was wondering if you could make one of my office team (10) for our boss who is leaving shortly and can give as a parting gift. Would need in one week. Please let me know if possible and how much it will cost.
    Thanks,
    Uma

Leave a Reply

